business news in context, analysis with attitude

The Major League Baseball Hall of Fame announced its 2020 class yesterday and Derek Jeter, who helped lead the New York Yankees to four World Series championships, was elected with just one vote short of unanimity in his first year of eligibility.  Jeter had a .310 career batting average,  3,465 career hits, had 17 straight seasons with at least 150 hits and 13 seasons scoring at least 100 runs.  He was a 14-time All Star.

Also elected was Larry Walker, the Colorado Rockies slugger who also spent part of his career with the Montreal Expos and St. Louis Cardinals.  Walker is a one-time NL MVP, and was elected in his q0th and final year of eligibility.

Players on the ballot who were not elected - a 75 percent minimum among voters is required - included Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Curt Schilling, as well as Bobby Abreu, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Eric Chavez, Adam Dunn, Chone Figgins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Raul Ibanez, Andruw Jones, Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Pena, Brad Penny, Andy Pettitte, J.J. Putz, Brian Roberts, Gary Sheffield, Alfonso Soriano, Sammy Sosa, Jose Valverde.

Induction in Cooperstown is scheduled for July 26.  Also scheduled to be inducted into the call are Ted Simmons, who caught for the St. Louis Cardinals, Milwaukee Brewers and  Atlanta Braves over 21 seasons, and Marvin Miller, the late director of the Major League Baseball Players Association;  both were elected by a smaller committee last year.